top of page

Extra Texture


I get a real kick out of persuading ink to behave badly; to coerce it into forming spidery threads to also make it granulate and separate - that's my aim. The ink I favour is permanent once dry & usually used for calligraphy. Its respectful use entails diluting it with distilled water in order to maintain its purity. I however debase it with various types of tea made with ordinary tap water. My mini obsession with bark, particularly that of Scots pines, is to blame for me leading these inks astray

Not all inks are made equal & some are certainly more willing to misbehave than others. They make for a pretty chromatography experiment, where they reveal their true & hidden selves. These inks also make for a great ally when mixed with other less willing participants.

Distressing ink, so that it thickens to preserve the strokes of a brush & so create even more textural effects is also most desirable.

So yes, I do spend my time of late corrupting ink.... but I just can't relinquish my textural obsession - at least not just yet.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page