top of page

The Unexpected Guest


It’s no secret that I am a lover of corvids, so it will come as no surprise that last evening I was happily gazing out of the kitchen window watching a magpie hopping springy circles around my lawn. The light was starting to fade & I was avoiding commencing the evening meal preparations by watching this fine fellow’s dance.

Then out of the corner of my eye I became aware of an unfamiliar shape perched on the fence. I noticed it because it didn’t ‘belong’. I’m pretty familiar with the regulars in my garden, so anything out of the ordinary tends to cause a blip on my radar.

I’m so glad I took a proper look, for on the fence where a fine woodpigeon would usually be seated was a stranger instead. A red-legged partridge no less!

I know it may not be terribly exciting to some, but for a bird I’ve only seen in open fields, to see one in my garden was a real treat. I still feel really excited about it today!

It was there for quite a while, long enough for me to get a grip & grab my sketchbook. It sat very still at first, so was easier to sketch despite the fading light. As it got closer to 7pm I headed for a higher vantage point. The bird was getting restless & moved out of its low rounded squat to a more straighter sleeker upright position. It hopped down the other side of the fence & returned looking like it may have had something in its beak, but I couldn’t be sure.

I tried to take some photos, but the light was so bad & my skills are sorely lacking. I have some vague colour references for a watercolour study though.

Then it launched itself off, low above the fences off into the scrub.

Needless to say, dinner was very late last night!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page